AACDP Officers and Executive Council Members

September 2018 - September 2019


Timothy J. Soundy, MD 

Chair, Department of Psychiatry
Sanford School of Medicine/Univ of South Dakota
Sioux Falls, SD



Britta Ostermeyer, FAPA, MBA, MD

The Paul and Ruth Jonas Chair, Professor and Chairman
University of Oklahoma
920 Stanton L. Young Blvd., WP 3470
Oklahoma City, OK 73104



Jair C. Soares, MD, PhD 


Appointment date: September 2016 – September 2019


Erika Saunders, MD


Appointment date: September 2017 – September 2019


Gerald Maguire, MD


Appointment date: September 2018 – September 2020


Ewald Horwath, MD, MS Ewald Horwath, MD, MS
CFAS representative

Chair, Case Western Reserve University at MetroHealth
Department of Psychiatry
2500 MetroHealth Drive, Suite 847A
Cleveland, OH 44109


Appointment date: September 2016 - September 2019


Petros Levounis, MD, MA Petros Levounis, MD, MA
CFAS representative

Chair, Department of Psychiatry
Rutgers New Jersey Medical School
Chief of Service, University Hospital
Newark, NJ 07103


Appointment date: September 2015 - September 2020

Note: AAMC recommends one junior/one senior member; 3 year term can be extended, but no more than a 6 year term

Note: The President is elected to a one-year term as President, and will continue as a member of the Council for a one year term on the Executive Council as Councilor and Parliamentarian and will continue as a member of the Council for two more years for a total of three years past their year as President


Jed Magen, DO, MS
Immediate Past President

Chair, Department of Psychiatry
College of Human Medicine, Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI



Mark Hyman Rapaport, MD
Past President

Chairman & Chief of Psychiatric Services, Emory Healthcare System
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA 30322


September 2018 – 2021

  Ondria Gleason, MD, FAPM, FAPA
Past President

Professor and Chair
Department of Psychiatry
University of Oklahoma College of Medicine
Tulsa, OK


September 2017 – September 2020


Journal Governance Representative:
Gregory Dalack, MD
September 2016 – September 2019

From the Bylaws

  1.  Each Councilor is elected for one three year term and the same person may not be reelected for two consecutive full terms as Councilor.
  2.  AACDP is eligible for two representatives to AAMC/CFAS

AACDP Executive Office | PO Box 570218 | Dallas, TX 753357-0218
Phone: 972-613-0985 | Email: psychiatrychairs@gmail.com

Copyright © 2019 American Association of Chairs of Departments of Psychiatry

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software